And so the adventure begins!

Welcome to my blog, the first post of many! Today I will explain what I have set out to do during ‘My Mammoth Year’ and why I have decided to do it. I promise I’m not mad, maybe just a little crazy! Happy reading šŸ™‚

Hi! I’m Katie, an elephant keeper at Chester Zoo. I have decided to dedicate 2019 to supporting the zoo’s Never Forget Campaign, a cause very close to my heart. The campaign aims to raise vital funding to support research into the elephant endotheliotropic herpes virus (EEHV). The virus typically strikes young Asian elephants and is often fatal. Unfortunately Chester zoo has lost a total of seven calves to EEHV. Lots is still unknown about the virus and how to treat it so more research is vitally important. If you would like more information about the campaign: http://www.chesterzoo.org/support-us/eehv. I will write a future blog post to explain what we do know about EEHV, in a little more detail.

Due to the previous losses, EEHV is never far from the Chester Zoo Elephant team’s thoughts, especially having 2 young calves currently within our herd. 2018 was the first time I have encountered EEHV, when we sadly lost Nandita and Aayu. It was truly devastating, and although we did everything we could it was hard not to feel helpless. This feeling is what has driven me to want to do more and raise as much funding as I possibly can. Wisdom is power as they say. I wanted to go big, MAMMOTH in fact. I also wanted to tick some things off my bucket list. The result, ‘My Mammoth Year’.

‘My Mammoth Year’ will see me complete a different challenge each month. Some challenges will last the month while others will be one off events. The challenges are listed below:

January: Photo challenge

February: Crochet challenge

March: Go vegan

April: The 3 Peaks (over 3 days)

May: Cycle Wales (250 miles over 5 days)

June: Rough Runner

July: Swim Run

August: Prudential Ride London

September: Half Ironman

October: Tatton Park 10K dressed as an elephant

November: Dance challenge

December: Go Sober

Further details about each challenge will follow in future posts. My photo challenge has already begun and involves me taking a daily photo and sharing it on social media. The photo must show me doing some sort of activity, something different each day. It must also include an elephant. The same elephant cannot appear in more than one photo.

I am excited, nervous, and scared for the year. Some challenges may appear easier than others but all will push me outside my comfort zone in some way. ‘My Mammoth Year’ may seem ambitious but I am totally game for what lies ahead.

Please support the cause. Every penny counts: https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/mymammothyear

To keep up to date with my adventures follow me on Instagram and like my page on facebook.

http://www.instagram.com/mymammothyear

https://www.facebook.com/mymammothyear/

Thanks for reading! Till next time…

Leave a comment